Catherine Chandler's Poetry Blog

Awards and Nominations

Richard Wilbur Award:

2016The Frangible HourWINNER
Final Judge: Dick Davis

Howard Nemerov Sonnet Award:

2017 — "Celebration" — Finalist
Final Judge: Dana Gioia 

2016 — "Family at Sunset Beach, California" — Finalist
Final Judge: Rachel Hadas 

2015 — "Olēka" — Finalist
Final Judge: Gail White

2014 — "Afterwords" — Finalist
Final Judge: R.S. (Sam) Gwynn

2013 — "The Watchers at Punta Ballena, Uruguay" — Finalist
Final Judge: Dick Davis

2012 — "Composure" — Finalist
Final Judge: Rhina P. Espaillat

2010 — "Coming to Terms"  WINNER
Final Judge: A.E. Stallings

2009 — "Singularities" — Finalist
Final Judge: David Middleton

2008 — "Missing" — Finalist
Final Judge: Timothy Steele

National Poetry Registry, Library of Parliament, Canada:

"Full Snow Moon," "Superbia," and "The Lost Villages: Inundation Day," were chosen by George Elliott Clarke, Poet Laureate of Canada, for inclusion in the National Poetry Registry, Library of Parliament. These poems, published in Canada in my second full-length collection, Glad and Sorry Seasons (Biblioasis, 2014), reflect the landscape and/or events in the Federal ridings of Lac-Saint-Louis, Niagara Falls, and Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry, respectively.

Pushcart Prize Nominations:

2019 - "On Reading the 40th Statewide Investigating Grand Jury Report"
nominated by Alabama Literary Review (Bill Thompson)

2017 — "The Watchers at Punta Ballena, Uruguay"
nominated by The Orchards (Karen Kelsay)

2016 — "Valediction"
nominated by The Orchards (Karen Kelsay and Jeff Holt)

2012 — "Avaritia"
nominated by The Raintown Review (Anna Evans and Quincy Lehr)

2011 — "Críonnacht"
nominated by The Chimaera (Paul Christian Stevens)

2011 —  "The Deep Season" 
nominated by Victorian Violet Press (Karen Kelsay)

2009 — "Body of Evidence" 
nominated by The Flea (Paul Christian Stevens)

2008 — "Writ" 
nominated by The Chimaera (Paul Christian Stevens)

2006 —  "66" 
nominated by The Barefoot Muse (Anna Evans)

The Leslie Mellichamp PrizeWINNER

Judge: David Stephenson
"Chiaroscuro", published in The Lyric, Winter 2014

The 2013 Poets' Prize, shortlisted:

Lines of Flight

The 2017 Able Muse Book Award

Finalist and one of two runners-up: 
The Artful Look of Ordinary Days: New and Selected Sonnets

Able Muse Write Prize (POETRY AND FICTION)

Honorable Mention:  Final judge Marilyn Nelson.
"North on 81" (Poetry, 2018)

"Remorse"   (Flash Fiction, 2017)

Finalist: Final judge: Dick Allen
"Discovery"  (Poetry, 2014)

Finalist: Final judge: Rachel Hadas
"This Dusky Arc"  (Poetry, 2011)

The 2017 Donald Justice Poetry Prize

Finalist and first runner-up

X.J. Kennedy Parody Award:

2015 — "Pack Rat"  (after "Renascence" by Edna St. Vincent Millay) -- FINALIST  (final judge Tony Barnstone)

The Lyric Quarterly PrizeWINNER

"Franconia", Summer 2004

Best of the Net Nominations:

2006 — "66" — Finalist
nominated by The Barefoot Muse (Anna Evans)

2007 — "Ragbag"
nominated by Umbrella (Kate Bernadette Benedict)

2008 — "Writ"
nominated by The Chimaera (Paul Christian Stevens)


"In Ploegsteert Wood: The Christmas Truce of 1914"
Third Place, New York Encounter, 2020

"The Saving Moon"
Honorable Mention, Kelsay Books Metrical Poetry Contest, 2019

"On Reading the 40th Statewide Investigating Grand Jury Report"
Honorable Mention, Poetry By the Sea Sonnet Crown contest, 2019. Final judge Marilyn Nelson.

Honorable Mention, Frost Farm Metrical Poetry competition, 2016, judged by David Rothman.

Glad and Sorry Seasons nominated for the A.M. Klein Prize (Poetry) - Quebec Writers' Federation, 2014

"Coming to Terms"
Laureate's Choice, Great River Shakespeare Festival, Maria W. Faust Sonnet Contest, 2014.

Special Recognition, Helen Schaible International Shakespearean/Petrarchan Sonnet Contest, 2013. 

First Runner-Up (out of over 3,700 entries worldwide) for the 2012 ATTYS poetry award (competitor category) on Wattpad. Final judge: Margaret Atwood.

"Niagara Falls, 1859"
Winner, Hudson Memorial Library Shakespearean Sonnet Contest, 2011

"Shadow Fish"
Third Prize, Muriel Craft Bailey Memorial Award, Comstock Review, 2010

Honorable Mention, the Orbis Readers Award, 2009.